Year 7 Curriculum

An Introduction to the Year 7 Curriculum

Here at Ysgol David Hughes, we base the curriculum on the 6 Areas of Learning and Experience: Health and Well-being; Expressive Arts; Humanities; Science and Technology; Languages, Literacy and Communication, and Mathematics and Numeracy.

The information, skills and experiences gained by our learners in these areas lead to the four purposes of being:

  • ambitious, capable learners who are ready to learn throughout their lives
  • enterprising and creative contrubitors, ready to play a full part in life and work
  • ethical and informed citizens of Wales and the world
  • healthy, confident individuals, who are ready to lead fulfilling lives as valued members of society.

Developing Digital Competency, Literacy and Numeracy skills is core to our work, and qualities such as perseverance and independent learning are promoted in everything we do. We have recently developed our use of blended learning, by making the most of appropriate technology in order to ensure the best learning experience.

Learners work with friends in mixed-ability groups, ensuring that they are happy and that they succeed in school. 

Ffordd Pentraeth, Porthaethwy, Ynys Môn, LL59 5SS
Ffôn: 01248 712287 • E-bost: